Yii Ying Tan: Songs and Sonnets


22 August 2020 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm Online

Saturday, 22 August, 2020
3:00 PM – 4:00 PM

Watch the Online Concert here

While this online live concert is free, we rely on your generosity to support our artists during this time. You can show your support by either buying a ticket below or donating. The funds from your donations will go toward the musicians you see and help us to continue operating into the future.

Yii Ying Tan: Songs and Sonnets


- +
Want a discount? Become a member by purchasing Membership!

SKU: N/A Categories: ,

Additional information


Full Price, Concession/Low Income

We understand that circumstances such as pension or study don’t always dictate how financially stable one may be at any point in time. A full price ticket goes a long way in sustaining our artists’ careers, but we also want to trust that attendees are able to make their own choices regarding what they can and can’t afford (that, and we really want you to come). There is no threshold or official requirement in purchasing a low income ticket, it is simply what you are comfortable paying.

For help with ticket purchase or for further enquiries, please contact Caterina Turnbull.
[email protected]
+61 401 359 353

Songs and Sonnets


Chopin/Liszt 6 Polish Songs, S.480
Franz Liszt 3 Petrarch Sonnets [From Years of Pilgrimage: Italy], S. 161
Clara Schumann Piano Sonata in G minor

Take a step back in time to younger days and fond memories. Join us for a Saturday afternoon as Yii Ying transports you back to a playful and inquisitive childhood. Through the polished and beautiful writing of Chopin, Liszt, and Schumann, reminisce on all things young and pure, and escape into comfort for an hour.


Yii Ying Tan is renowned for her passion and restless curiosity about classical music, particularly her advocacy of music by lesser-known composers. Born in Malaysia, she has been playing the piano since she was six, and has recently obtained a double degree – Bachelor of Music/Commerce, studying under Dr Kenji Fujimura at Monash University.

She has won numerous international and local competitions, and given performances in Malaysia, China, USA, Italy, and Australia. Recent achievements include her concerto debut as a soloist for the Etruscan Concerto by Peggy Glanville-Hicks with conductor Tianyi Lu, a sold-out solo recital in collaboration with Casa Capriccio Musica in Kuching, Malaysia, a performance at the Lincoln Center, New York City, as well as gaining Silver and Bronze Prizes in both the Young Artist and Open Category at the Kingsburg International Piano Competition in China. Her musical pursuits have been supported by the Monash University Elite Student Performer Scheme and Yayasan Sarawak.

As a keen enthusiast of chamber music, Yii Ying has also explored a wide variety of repertoire, including rarer ensemble combinations such as music for piano six hands, compositions requiring acting, and trios for voice, cello, and piano. She is a recipient of the Bernies Music Land Classical Piano Award for two years in a row and also a recipient of the Chamber Music Prize given by the Faculty of Arts at Monash University. She looks forward to performing and travelling more in the future as a soloist as well as a chamber musician.

  1. Refunds are available 14 calendar days prior to the event or at the discretion of Panoramic Music.
  2. Tickets may be valid as a tax invoice or receipt in the case of registrations or other event payments.
  3. Tickets cannot be on-sold by any means at a price greater than the purchase price of the ticket. Scalped tickets may be cancelled, and the ticket holder denied entry.
  4. The event organiser has all rights to film, photo and video production of this event.
  5. If the event is cancelled due to unforeseen circumstances, a full refund will be issued to all patrons.
  6. Any data collected for marketing purposes from this event will be strictly in accordance with the Privacy of Information Act.